2nd Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DOMD

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm a recent peds graduate and I want to join the gas society. Do I have a disadvantage (or advantage?) with having finishing a residency? How often do programs accept post-residency grads?

Thanks. I hope to c'ya in the interview circuit.

DOMD

Members don't see this ad.

From what I can gather, most programs like folks who have already completed another residency. You should have little problem finding a gas spot.

You may actually stand at a disadvantage. The ACGME may not fund a residency in anesthesia given the fact that you've already completed your three years in pediatrics.

Members don't see this ad :)
I have heard of that but several people told me it sometimes depend on the program. I am hoping that it's not the case with the one's I've applied to.

Do

I'm a CA-1 resident right now. I know of one person in my program in the same position as you. He is now nearing graduation and he has had multiple offers in pediatric anesthesia, including an excellent offer at our institution. APeds background in my opinion will only be an asset in terms of acceptance to a program as well as job procuremetn in the future.
Hope this helps.

Hey DOMD,