Medical 3.0 Science GPA - Do i have a chance at applying this coming cycle?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Staff member
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a third year pre-medicine student. I'm majoring in marketing and entrepreneurship, so I'm only getting the bare minimum of science/math classes that are necessary as pre-requisites. Because of this, there is very little room for error. My current science GPA is low (at a 3.0 due to some medical issues that came up). My professors did not adhere to the university's policies regarding make up exams, etc. even though I provided proper documentation. I had two instances where I received an F and a C (when I had high A's before the finals) from not being able to take final exams because of a debilitating neurological episode. Additionally, I got a 512 on my MCAT, and I want to apply this spring, as I really do not want to do a post-bacc program. My cumulative GPA is a 3.6. Is there a way to let schools know of these medical issues I've had without coming across as lazy and giving excuses? I have the condition under control now, but it was a challenge to be diagnosed properly and find the necessary treatment. Would it be a bad idea to write about my health interferences in a personal statement? I have over 300 hours of shadowing experience, 500+ hours of volunteer experience, multiple leadership positions for organizations on campus, and valuable work experience. Any recommendations on this would be helpful. Thank you so much.

Do you have the proper documentation regarding your diagnosis? Have you reported this to your learning services office? I'm not sure what I can tell you about your professors not adhering to university policies, but unfortunately I don't think admissions committees will take that into account.