CHART/SOAP Notes

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

usrmebe

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys. I'm a new EMT and will be working on a BLS service primarily doing patient transports and transfers (inter-facility transfers, hospital to home, etc.). Can any of you provide a CHART or SOAP template or example for how to document these transports? I feel like there's not really an assessment besides vital signs and I'm not sure how to write one of these in general.
Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
@usrmebe
I am the rarity among co-workers, but I write everything about the run, even if it is a BLS transfer (some people will literally write "BLS transfer without incident"... really?! lol)

What documentation program are you using? ESO? Paper charts? Feel free to PM me if you ever need help :) I have never had luck with the SOAP/CHART method, because I feel like (for whatever reason) I need to document how we move the patient to and from each place.

Example:

"

Medic 1 dispatched to best nursing home ever for a 99 YOF, C/C abnormal labs. Upon EMS arrival, patient is found supine in bed. Patient is in no apparent distress, has no life threats and is alert and oriented x 1 (oriented to self) with no complaints of injury or illness. Patient is moved to EMS stretcher via draw sheet without incident and secured with all belts. Patient is moved to med unit without incident.

Once in med unit, baseline vital signs are obtained per chart. Physical exam is performed and is as noted per chart. Patient has no changes in their condition for the duration of the transport. (Report called into destination en route if they make you do so).

Upon arrival at destination, patient is moved to ER stretcher via draw sheet without incident. Verbal report/hand-off given to nurse and signatures for service are obtained. Medic 1 returned to service with no further.

"