Deleted

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

PodiatryStudent1999

Reaction score
N/A

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Your school will always give the cookie cutter response. Reach out to the residents at your externship, explain it to them and take it from there.

You can make all the lists you want but imo family is way more important than any externship

Reactions: 1 users
Hey there, I wanted to know what the process is like for canceling an externship. I am currently a fourth-year student and will start externship next month. Life happens and it turns out that my brother is getting married in India the first week of my externship. What should I do if I wanted to go? I asked my externship coordinator at my podiatry school and she said they can only cancel an externship if there is an emergent excuse. I did not tell her the reason. Realistically, I don't want to cancel the externship, I would just miss about one week or less. I have been preparing for externships for a while and the worst scenario is I just miss the wedding. This program that I applied to was not on top of my list that I wanted to extern at. I was just doing it because my uncle lives there and I would save money on rooming. Also, the programs I wanted for that month in May I did not get. I do not care about the program but just do it for requirement sake.

I wanted to know what would be the best way to go about a situation like this, what are the pros and cons if I cancelled, or if i asked the program for a week off, etc.