Dentistry Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AmericaLC

Reaction score
Hello, I'm a dental student and I'd like to know if there has been any technological improvement in dentistry that improves or facilitates the procedures? If so, what are those improvements?

Members don't see this ad.

• Dislike
Reactions: 1 user
I don’t know about general dentistry. But for ortho, the answer is NONE. I still use the same original equipment and chairs. I haven’t upgraded anything since I built my first office in 2005. I’ve practiced ortho the same way that I was taught 20+ years ago. My staff and I work just as efficiently (and treat similar number of patients per day) as the offices that have modern equipment, which cost 5-6 times more. Newer equipment often the give doctors more headache due to the additional time required for staff training…..and due to the frequent repairs and maintenances. It’s going backward....and more expensive.

A few years ago, the corp office that I currently work part time for, bought a bunch of intraoral scanners for us to do invisalign treatments for our patients. And now most of these scanners are sitting in the corner collecting dust. It’s because of the high staff turnover and no one knows how to operate the scanners. Whenever we have a clear aligner case, we just take the PVS impressions.

Hello, I'm a dental student and I'd like to know if there has been any technological improvement in dentistry that improves or facilitates the procedures? If so, what are those improvements?
Soo I’m a dental assistant. Not sure what you’re looking for in terms of answers but the biggest improvement has been digital scanners. We currently use a scanner for crown preps and ortho cases(Invisalign). I do think traditional impressions are best though. I think that might be about it.