Future of pathology (technology-wise)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

conveyor_belt

Reaction score
I see a lot of negativity about starting a career in pathology on these forums, and a lot of it seems to revolve around the financial aspects of the US healthcare system. I'm a fresh anatomic pathology resident in an EU country and I'm concerned whether I made a mistake entering path. However, the situation in my country is that the hospital putting you through residency will keep you as an attending 100%. Healthcare is mostly state-owned and hospitals (and the health ministry) are run by MDs, so the whole business aspect of maximizing profit is not as pronounced as in the US. Salaries in the public healthcare system are also not determined by volume of patients/procedures/RVUs, but instead all specialties have the same base salary that increases depending on professional risks (exposure to pathogens, chemicals, radiation, OR, closed psych ward, etc.) and hours worked.

So it's guaranteed that I will land a job post-residency and earn decent money. My worries are in the threat of advancing technologies like AI/ML software, molecular, liquid biopsies, etc. Is there a realistic possibility of these advancements eliminating pathology in the next 40 years? Or massively reducing the number of pathologists needed? Is it expected that they'll add new roles and jobs for pathologists instead? Is it recommendable to enter the field if this is my only concern?

Members don't see this ad.

I think it will add new specialties to pathology. Just as robotics in surgery still today needs a surgeon, AI and liquid biopsies in pathology will need clinical pathologists. My recommendation would be to make sure to get some experience in the regulatory and CP side of path to stay competitive.

Reactions: 5 users