How important are qualifications in Psychology for a research career in mental health?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

firefly4210

Reaction score
If I'm interested in pursuing a research career in mental health (so, for example, research psychologist or clinical research in mental health conditions) and I have an Honours degree in Biomedical Science with a strong interest in Neuroscience (which I can evidence through courses I took at undergrad and some work experience), how useful would it be for my career purposes to pursue a masters/PhD in Psychology? I've also been thinking of pursuing Neuroscience as a masters/PhD but I'm wondering about the benefits of pursuing one over the other considering my interest in a research career in mental health? Any thoughts on how I could gain some clarity? I would be grateful for some perspective and please do let me know if I need to clarify anything! Thank you in advance.

Members don't see this ad.