How to improve procedure volume

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drrosenrosen

Pain Physician
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in my third year at this practice. 2022, my first full year (started in August) I had 3813 pt encounter, 731 new pts, 1067 procedures. Last year I had 4944 pt encounters, with 746 new and 1426 procedures. So volume is going up, but % procedures is remaining steady at about 30% of all encounters. In the first third of this year, I'm on track for about a 5% increase in overall volume, but the % procedures is holding steady. I'm wanting to increase my procedural volume, but not sure how best to attack that. Should I be marketing more aggressively to get more new consults? Reconsidering where my consults are coming from? Any good strategies to make sure pts aren't being lost to followup at a greater than usual rate? I'd appreciate any ideas the braintrust has to offer.

Members don't see this ad.

if you do a crappy job, there are always more injections to be done.

just kidding. sort of.

focus on repeat RFs. may be a good idea to keep track of these and give a call out 1 year after the RFs to see how they are doing. or schedule a f/u 1 year from RFs.

referrals from surgeons more often lead to injections than those from PCPs.

move away from prescribing medication. thats a dead end

Reactions: 2 users
let me get this right... you are seeing slightly more people, but the percent of people getting injections is unchanged.

it sounds like you are maintaining your own standards of who "qualifies" for an injection. not everyone needs an injection.

if you want that percent number to change, then change your standards and instead of thinking about what would help the patient, focus on the $$$ and order more injections to improve the financial standing of the clinic. Be the needle jockey. own it.

after all, everyone deserves at least a trigger point, if not a stim.

• Haha