Is pharmacy still worth 200k in loans?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Where are you getting this 140,000/year for a pharmacist? thats VERY hard to get anymore. As a matter of fact i would bet it no longer exists, since the salary cuts nationwide.
Depends where you live. I make more than this, no OT.

Members don't see this ad.

They dont pay those wages anymore, or give out the hours anymore. I make more as well, no OT, but im a manager in BFE. They will take it from me eventually.

Plus factor in the opportunity cost of years of schooling plus a few years of residency and the cost of a BCPS.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Where are you getting this 140,000/year for a pharmacist? thats VERY hard to get anymore. As a matter of fact i would bet it no longer exists, since the salary cuts nationwide.

I made roughly this from 2016-2018; probably more if you count all the OT. Granted this was in California, but in a relatively low COL area; rent was just a bit above Midwest levels.

Reactions: 1 user
Still worth it? I would argue was it EVER worth it? Costs of higher education are out of control. I don't see many having a long 30+ year career in pharmacy that is rewarding professionally and lucrative regardless of the cost to achieve the education. So, no.

Reactions: 2 users
expect hourly wages to move down to $45/hour, especially for new grads. also these new grads are only working 20 to 32 hours per week. If they get $45 per hour at 32 hours per week, that is only 75k per year. Is that enough of a salary to take out 200k in loans? or if one is in California can they afford the 300 to 400k loans from USC and other private schools?

Reactions: 5 users