Latest to take mcat ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TxMed55

Reaction score
I want to apply this year but been focusing on other things and will like to take the mcat by the end of summer. I just graduated and my gpa and ECs are competitive as well as Im a first gen and URM. What is the latest day I should take the mcat while remaining somewhat competitive ? I want to give this cycle a shot even If I dont get in since I will already be in a gap year since I graduated this past weekend. Im applying TMDSAS and AMCAS

Members don't see this ad.

Please revise your plan. You may want to give it a shot even if you don't get in but being late (you will be late - very late) puts you at a disadvantage that will not be off-set by your status as a first gen student. If May 2025 rolls around and you have no offers of admission after months of effort and thousands of dollars in expenses, will you really be glad that you gave it a shot?

Like marriage, the goal should be to do it right and do it once.

In my opinion, the best timeline is:
application submitted by 4th of July
everything including LORs and MCAT scores not later than Labor Day
at least one interview invitation by Thanksgiving
at least one offer by Mardi Gras (mid-February)

What day do you need to take the MCAT to get the scores reported by September 2nd? Most likely, 35 days before which would around July 27th.

Just keep in mind that there will be thousands of applicants who have their applications in ahead of you and you just have to hope that your application rises like cream and can be skimmed off the top even if it is not complete until September (others will be complete and begin the review process in late July).

• Haha
  • Love
Reactions: 5 users
What is the latest day I should take the mcat while remaining somewhat competitive ?