Non-Trad MD/PhD off to a rocky start

Doodledog

Escape artist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
An entering MD/PhD student asks:

I am a non-trad Md/PhD, so far I'm in my third block of my first year of medical school. I started off ok, then my grades fell pretty bad (went from an 80 on my first test to a 61 on my second test). I still managed to pass my first block. In my second block I started with a 58, that really shook me up, then I got a 90 and a 72; I passed that block too. Now I'm in my third block, and had a biostatistics exam (not related to the third block in any way, just thrown in to the third block randomly); this I totally failed. I am worried because I am an MD/PhD student, and I'm scared that I'm going to be held to a different standard than the other medical students. I haven't gotten any e-mails about meeting with academic advisement yet, but I plan on doing so.

I guess my question is this, can an MD/PhD student that doesn't have stellar grades be kicked out of the program because of that?

**What's worrying me more is that some unprofessional people at my school told me that there were a couple of people that didn't want me in the program, and I'm scared that now that I actually have an official failing grade, that they'll have ammunition to get me out (can they do that?).:scared:

I think this type of thing is program-dependent. What is most important though is that you focus on getting academic advising and counseling to improve your grades. Also, I would stay away from "unprofessional people" gossiping about your admission. You are there and now your task is to do well and prove any nay-sayers wrong. Your slow start isn't the determinant of your future as an academic research/physician!

Members don't see this ad.