Nontrad - finance to medicine... looking for advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

notdocyet123

Reaction score
Hi SDN - looking for advice on the path to take for medical school (formal vs diy post-bacc). I graduated from a T-20 university last spring with a social sciences degree and a 3.7 GPA. I did not take any pre-med classes in undergrad, but worked as a scribe, then an MA from high school through college.

I now work in finance, but have found myself feeling unfulfilled and wanting to go to med-school. However, I am not sure the best method to go about getting pre-recs, research experience (if possible), and clinical/non-clinical volunteer hours.

My job contract requires me to stay at minimum through March 2025, pushing back my timeline a bit. The following are some ideas I have had thus far:
  1. DIY Post-bacc only
    1. Take local community college classes at nights/on weekends while I am working.
    2. Concern: not having enough time to volunteer/shadow outside of school/work.
  2. DIY Post-Bacc and SMP
    1. While I am working, I could get my pre-recs and apply for an SMP the following year where I could dedicate time to clinical experience/volunteering/research
    2. Not sure if I should be looking for a
    3. Concern: most SMPs require an MCAT score and volunteer experience. I am not sure it is feasible to work, study, and take the MCAT by Spring 2025 to enter in the Fall 2025 SMP term.
  3. Formal Post-Bacc
    1. Dedicate 2024/Spring 2025 to gaining experience and showing my dedication to medicine, while completing my finance job contract.
    2. Enter in the Summer/Fall 2025 term for a 1-2 year Post-Bacc for pre-recs, research, and clinical experience.