Ohio Licensure application

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WonderingStudent

c/o 2024
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m a fourth year veterinary student graduating in a few weeks. I have a job in Ohio and thus would like to apply for my Ohio veterinary license. I’m confused regarding the Ohio licensure application as someone who has not yet officially graduated. The application requires that I indicate I have already graduated and that I took the NAVLE through Ohio (when I initially applied for the NAVLE it was through a different state but am sending my score to Ohio now. The verbiage on the application is “I attest that I took the NAVLE through Ohio.”). I am unable to submit the application without saying yes to both of these statements.

Am I able to apply for my OH license before I graduate? Can I attest that I took the NAVLE through Ohio? Thank you for any insight!

Members don't see this ad.

I haven’t done an Ohio license but I can confirm that the state I did get licensed in required you to be officially graduated. Because of my internship start date I pretty much had to apply the moment after graduation when I had my diploma in hand so it would get approved by my start date. (Aka the Monday after Friday afternoon graduation.)

I’d recommend you call or email the Ohio board office to see what they say about the NAVLE through Ohio question. If you’ve sent them your scores through ICVA I bet it’s fine but best to get the info directly from them. Most boards are fairly helpful when you have questions. Though do remember this is their busiest time of year.

Members don't see this ad :)