Ohio State vs. Midwestern

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

divergent14

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!
I would just love to hear some input on Ohio State vs. Midwestern's program.
I'm a CA resident, so AZ is closer to home for me but OSU is about 100k cheaper. I know at Midwestern you get a lot of exposure to the basics (blood draws and handling) during your first year and a lot of students end up getting spay/neuter exposure very early on. I love the area and climate at AZ much more than tOSU.
But with that being said, Ohio is significantly cheaper. I know they're the #4 school overall but I don't know very much about how things are from a student view. Can anyone give me some insight on that, or some overall advice? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a current Midwestern 4th year happy to answer any specific questions you may have!
For whatever it's worth... I always advocate for the cheaper program, even if it's not Midwestern. The debt load you come out with is real (taking out full loans I'll be at least $400k from vet school alone).

Reactions: 1 users
I'm a current Midwestern 4th year happy to answer any specific questions you may have!
For whatever it's worth... I always advocate for the cheaper program, even if it's not Midwestern. The debt load you come out with is real (taking out full loans I'll be at least $400k from vet school alone).
I only have to worry about my tuition. My parents are taking care of the rest…I calculated about $280k for Midwestern?

I only have to worry about my tuition. My parents are taking care of the rest…I calculated about $280k for Midwestern?

I honestly don't know what tuition alone is.. I know that it goes up around 6% every year. Even if it's just tuition you're taking out loans for, I still say to pick the cheaper school.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
OSU is about 100k cheaper.