Pay interest or pay off the principal balance while in medical school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dtx_17

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Second year here.
I got married recently, and my husband's income is enough to cover our monthly expenses. We have enough to invest ~$500 monthly in loan repayment. We have a fluffy enough savings already (TY cash wedding registry) so adding to savings is not in consideration.

My question is - is wiser to pay off accruing interest across the board while I'm a student, or to focus on lowering/paying off a couple of the principal balance (after paying that loan's interest, obviously).
I have ~$122k of principal, ~$5500 interest accrued thus far. I've taken out both Direct Student Plus ($27k) and Stafford loans (the rest).

I posted this on the Finance and Investment forum as well because I didn't know which was better suited for my question :)

Members don't see this ad.

Step 1 would be just borrow less in the first place.

But if you have the funds to make payments, always make principle payments. In school your interest doesn’t capitalize, so it doesn’t accrue interest. But the principle does.

Interest does capitalize once your grace period ends, so it’s only a few years worth of interest savings at most by paying down principle, but you will still get more bang for your buck paying down principle

Obviously pay down the principle on your highest interest loan. To get to the principle, you do have to pay down all the interest on that loan first.

But if you have the funds to make payments, always make principle payments. In school your interest doesn’t capitalize, so it doesn’t accrue interest. But the principle does.

Interest does capitalize once your grace period ends, so it’s only a few years worth of interest savings at most by paying down principle, but you will still get more bang for your buck paying down principle