PhD Student Interested in Medicine, Need advice regarding past academic performance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ECE-protein

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I was hoping to gain some advice on my situation. I earned my bachelors (BA in Biology) in 2017 with a 3.1 GPA, since I really loved research, I spent a majority of my time in lab and not class, along with some personal stuff that happened, which caused a plethora of withdrawals, bad grades, and overall bad time.

I then ended up going into the biotech industry. During my time there, I took 30+ credits of upper level undergraduate coursework and maintained a >3.9 GPA in those courses. The reason taking additional classes was because I was very interested in pursuing a PhD later and wanted to show graduate schools that my undergraduate performance was an anomaly and did not define me as a student.

After about 4 years in industry, I joined a "very good" PhD program in Biochemistry (I am a second going on third year), although the lab I work in is BioE/synthetic bio (which is ranked "top 10" if that matters). I recently realized that I want to go to medical school more than anything. The reasoning is a very long story and something that I have thought about for an extended period of time. For the sake of brevity in an already long post, I will omit the reasons :).

Of course wanting to go to medical school really stinks since my undergraduate performance is very lackluster, and quite frankly makes me feel disgusted in hindsight. I have used the AMCAS Excel grade calculator spreadsheet and entered all the classes I took:
  • AMCAS GPA: 3.43
  • AMCAS BCPM: 3.48
  • Post-Bacc GPA: 3.85
  • Post-Bacc BCPM: 3.93
  • Graduate program GPA: 3.75 - 3.8 by the time I am done (two B's really killed me!)