Quick Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pineapplehead

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Sorry if this has already been asked a million times, but I don't have internet access at home and can't access this forum very often.
Okay, I am a pre med student and recently an Army rep came to our university to try and recruit us to sign up with him. The HPSP program that he was talking about sounded really interesting, and since I am a Navy brat, I am considering it. However, my husband is in the Air Force and has a bias towards that branch. He says the Air Force is a lot more family oriented, whereas in the Army and the Navy, physicians get deployed all the time. Is this true? Any Air Force Med students out there want to comment? Basically I'm just trying to see who likes their work environment the most and for what reason. Is one branch more 'fun' to work in than the other? Or is it all pretty much the same? Oh, also, does anybody know how many females apply and are accepted to the program annually? And what's the deal with bootcamp - I've heard they go easy on physicians?
Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Second question first...it ain't bootcamp. More like summer camp minus the adult supervision (that's true across all services).