Quoted: In need of some serious advice

Doodledog

Escape artist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
A first year osteopathic medical student asks:

I am currently a first year medical student at one of the new osteopathic medical schools.

I've run into MANY worrisome situations and events in the past few weeks and would like some advice on how to handle it.

These include:

1) There is much construction going on and much of the facilities are not functional and/or not even ready yet. This includes the anatomy lab, histology lab, OMM lab, library, and even many of the features in the lecture halls.

2) Noone, and I do mean Noone, seems to know what exactly is happening and noone is able to give an accurate or correct answer when addressed with questions/concerns about the status of the building.

3) Because of the construction, much of the curriculum has been shifted or nonexistent. (ie. OMM labs have been so rushed, no actual learning is being taken place, Anatomy Lab has yet to begin, etc...)

4) Administrators always seem to give the roundabout answer and never fully answer the question.

5) the one thing that worries me the most is the fact that I am concerned that the curriculum here is not preparing it's students to pass either the COMLEX or USMLE tests.

My question is, what should i do? We do not currently have advisers, and the school has not set up anybody to handle these concerns. Furthermore, the administrative staff (associate deans, director of admissions, head dean) can't seem to give any answer but "it's being worked on, or it's being handled, or the curriculum has some kinks but will be worked out".

A good friend of mine has suggested transferring out, however, I know how hard this is. But is "I don't believe the school I'm attending will prepare me enough my future career as a physician" be a valid reason for transfer?

Members don't see this ad.