Reapplicant advice - update

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jenmjfan

Reaction score
Hello all!!! I am currently on the waitlist for one more school but as it is approaching the matriculation of classes I want to begin applying for another cycle. I know I am too late for this cycle so I will be planning my application for matriculation in 2026 (submitting my primaries next June). I have wrote information about my stats and experience below! This was my second cycle applying so I will be preparing to apply for my third cycle.

Since I have a whole year to prepare for this next cycle I am open to any and all suggestions! I am considering retaking the MCAT too because I know that is one place I definitely could improve. This would be my fourth re write though which I heard has it's own risks and red flags so please let me know your advice too!

Also one other note is I am from Canada but I am a US permanent resident so I am able to apply to all schools being a resident already!

Stats
  • GPA = 3.86, MCAT = 510, MA resident
  • My first and second MCAT attempt were in 2021 (505, 506) and then my third MCAT attempt was in April 2022.
  • My science GPA is about a 3.8 and same for BCPM.
  • The first cycle I applied I interviewed at western Michigan and was waitlisted, and this cycle I interviewed at Albany and am currently on the alternate list (entire school list is below)

Research
  • 1 small publication that I did with my class during undergrad and then work on another research paper that was not published
  • Research in a breast cancer lab during my undergraduate degree - 240 hours
Clinical volunteer: total of 80 hours volunteering in a hospital
Non clinical volunteer: total of 300 hours - volunteer work throughout the pandemic, volunteer work for a local foster home, and then also for a local program right now (helping with fundraising)

Employment
  • medical scribe - 800 hours