Residency after 1 year of hospital work?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

meowmeowmix

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm wanting to pursue a residency this year. It was something I had considered prior to graduation this past May, but my life was pretty different last year, and I had a lot of things holding me back from pursuing a residency. I feel like I'm in a position now where I am hungry for it and feel that I would be able to put my best foot forward. Do you guys have any experiences or stories of people who pursued residency the year after graduating? I understand the pay cut etc will stink, but I really feel it is worth it. I feel I have more to offer than just order entry and verification, and on my many interviews, it seems nobody wants to give me a chance to do more than that.

I have a lot of experience in the hospital setting, being that I worked as a technician during school and am now working at the same hospital as a staff pharmacist. The clinical pharmacist we have is super supportive of me wanting to pursue a residency and is going to be letting me work under her to get some clinical experiences in, but I'm afraid that going this route without residency (as originally planned) is not going to get me far enough. It seems that places are really unwilling to trust your skills without having the residency to back it up.