Not open for further replies.

BC_89

Staff member
Administrator
Lifetime Donor
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I graduated from UC Davis in June 2019 and I don't really have a plan for my future. I'min my gap year (years?) and I'm really worried that I'm not doing anything because I don't know if I should pursue a career as a PharmD or an MD and I don't know what experiences I should have and what looks good on the applications.

I don't know if I have what it takes to become an MD and I don't even know if PharmD is right for me or I'm picking it for the wrong reasons (because I think I can't get into Med school but still want to be a doctor/in the health profession).

How can I narrow it down? I currently got a job offer as a manufacturing technician but the job isn't research related much. I am very confused and in a very bad position because I don't have a purpose and I don't know how to address anything. I'd appreciate any type of guidance and enlightenment.

Rule of thumb: Never run to a profession blindly without due diligence.

Some key factors are missing though:

1) What is your sGPA and cGPA?
2) Did you do any research in undergrad?
3) Have you shadowed "any" Health professional and if so what type and for how long?
4) Have you studied for or at least looked into the MCAT or PCAT guidelines for each field?

As for the PharmD, I would give it a hard no simply because you would be blindly running to it and risking decades of work into something you may or may not like. If the MD/DO route is on your radar, then I'd ask what it is you feel your are lacking (ie GPA, service, shadowing, research, etc.)