Dental Should I tell schools about the "real" reason why I didn't go into medicine?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Staff member
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I apologize in advance about how long this is -- I tried to condense it as much as I could.

Allow me to start in the beginning. I am an international student and have always wanted to be a doctor. My dream was to go to medical school in the US, but after some research, I learned how difficult (nearly impossible) it is for international students to be accepted into US medical schools. I can't even apply to most schools, and the schools I am allowed to apply to are highly selective. If my only chance to get into med school is to get into one of those institutions, I knew my chances are slim. So I started looking elsewhere. That's when I found dental. I did a lot of shadowing and volunteer work, and I have 100% fallen in love with this profession. I worked very hard in college and have a high GPA and DAT score. I interviewed at 8 dental schools and never ever touched on the "real" reason why I considered dental in the first place. I felt like they would reject me if I tell them the truth. I was worried that they might think the only reason why I am applying to dental schools is that I CANNOT apply to medical schools. If I was an American citizen, I wouldn't ever had the chance to consider dental (which now, I feel like I would be missing out). Fast forward to now, I already got accepted into multiple dental schools -- so that is not why I'm here.

Why am I asking this question now, you ask?