WAMC | International Student 3.99/509

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

charbelmar

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I am an international student applying this cycle. My gpa has been great (3.99) but i just received my MCAT score of 509. While 509 is a good score, i don't feel confident with that score as an international student. Do you think med schools take into account that english is my second language ? I did great on the science sections (90+% percentile on both) but it is just CARS that brought my score down. Overall, i have clinical volunteering, shadowing, part time job, leadership, research, non-clinical. Do you think I have a chance (in both MD and DO)?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

What state are you a resident of? Or are you a Canadian student?

Also how are your ECs looking (in terms of hours and what you did)? Fill out the format over here at the bottom, and we would be able to assist you better and give a good school list: *~*~*~*IMPORTANT: How to Format Your WAMC Thread for Optimal Results and More!!*~*~*~*
Thanks for your reply! My apologies, I was not aware about the WAMC guideline for posting. I am a non-Canadian international student. My ECs are: 150 clinical hours, 100 non-clinical hours, 400 hours research, 250 hours part-time job, 200 hours helping family business back home, 70 shadowing hours, 50 hours leadership (president of a club). My MCAT score might seem bad but I actually had a 129 on C/P and 130 on B/B, CARS is the only reason for that score. My priority schools are TCU, Loma Linda, UCLA, Tulane, and Howard University. These are only my priority targets but the list is longer, in addition I have a list of 7 DO schools that accept internationals

Members don't see this ad :)