Wayne State vs CMU vs Quinnipiac (Netter)?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

goodmornin

GoodMornin!
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I am lucky to have been accepted into 3 MD schools and was hoping to get some advice on which to attend. I've created a small pros/ cons list below for each school and would love to hear your thoughts. Some background about me is that I'm a Colorado resident and would be traveling out of state for each of these choices. I am not entirely sure about which specialty I want to pursue but am in favor of going into something slightly more competitive. I have also been waitlisted at Albany, Tulane, CUSOM. CU would be my top choice if I were to be accepted (given its reputation/ proximity to home), however, I've been told I am in the bottom 1/3rd of waitlistees. Every physician I've worked with has also told me to the cheapest route which is CMU (including a $10,000/semester FA package), although I think it may be difficult to match into competitive specialties there. Aside from CMU, I haven't really received any FA, so I'd love to hear what everyone has to say. Thanks!

Wayne State University School of Medicine
  • Pros
    • Classes not mandatory
    • vast research/ service opportunities
    • urban location/ fun things to do in Detroit
    • vast clinical opportunities and diverse patient population
    • clinical training is mainly done by residents
  • Cons
    • Not true P/F (honors)
    • administration issues/ poor communication with students
    • large class size (300)
    • higher COL
    • problems with accreditation in the past
Central Michigan University School of Medicine
  • Pros
    • Smaller class size
    • Attendance mandatory
    • P/F
    • lower COL/ tuition/ FA package received
  • Cons
    • few research opportunities
    • mandatory attendance
    • suburban campus
    • Relocation for M3/M4 (need to move to Mt. Pleasant)