Academic OMFS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tongxican57

Tongxican57
Reaction score
I just want to start by saying that I am just a dental student hoping to pursue OMFS. Something I don't see much of here is the life of an academic oral surgeon. I have seen some posts about people who are well into their careers but I was wondering what life looks like if you come straight out of residency and go into academics. What do the work weeks look like? How much are you getting paid? What kind of cases are you doing? How hard is it to get a full-time job at a university? I have seen that private practice pays more but academics intrigues me and I would love to hear any insight.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I just want to start by saying that I am just a dental student hoping to pursue OMFS. Something I don't see much of here is the life of an academic oral surgeon. I have seen some posts about people who are well into their careers but I was wondering what life looks like if you come straight out of residency and go into academics. What do the work weeks look like? How much are you getting paid? What kind of cases are you doing? How hard is it to get a full-time job at a university? I have seen that private practice pays more but academics intrigues me and I would love to hear any insight.