Concerned about head injuries...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Myxococcus-Xanthus

Reaction score
Hey yall, I'm very fortunate to have an acceptance to one of my top choices but thinking about starting medical school in 9ish months has me slightly worried about my brain health. For background I've been doing martial arts for a number of years and haven't had any serious head injuries. That said, I recently joined a new gym where I'm doing some fairly intense MMA training (jiu jitsu/MMA a couple times a week & kickboxing a couple times a week). We usually only MMA or kickbox spar once a week but I still take more hits to the head than the average person on this site (aka I'm not very good at it lol). I'm worried about this impacting my long term brain health, especially considering I'll be starting medical school in the near-ish future. On the other hand, I genuinely love my training. It's an incredible workout, builds a ton of confidence, and I enjoy learning new things. Just curious as to what any of you have to say because it's something I've been wrestling with for awhile. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Considering your academics or medical school prospects aside, if you are generally worried about something causing brain damage then you should probably stray away from it...you could just not spar or wear headgear?

Reactions: 2 users
Sounds like something you should talk about with your primary care physician. I'm a roller coaster enthusiast so it's somewhat similar, but I am able to take breaks whenever I get dizzy.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)