GPA 2.3 What Can I do For Admission.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MikeSmith

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I had a degree in computer science 10 years ago from a big name university.
My Overall GPA was "2.3" .I just messed up, that simple. For the next 10 years I worked in the field. Recently, I wanted I wanted to chase my dream of becoming a doctor. So, I enrolled in a university for a second B.S. degree in Biology and graduated with a GPA of 3.85. I went to another university in parallel and redid all my upper level classes in computer science and had a new second B.S degree in computer science with a 3.9 GPA. I also had 33 on the MCAT.
What are my chances getting into US med school? What can I do to get there?
Which schools I should apply for?
I should add that I am 36 years old.

Members don't see this ad.

The upward trend in your GPA is definitely a good thing. You also made a good decision to do several post-baccs - this will probably raise your GPA considerably. Just remember that, in AMCAS, your undergrad GPA and your postbacc GPA get lumped together to give your cumulative GPA. Your MCAT is good, and as long as you have good extracurricular activities, have a good personal statement, and apply broadly and early, you should get in somewhere. I would recommend applying to mostly mid- and lower- tier schools with a few reaches in there. Apply to all of your state schools and out-of-state private schools who are more willing to accept out-of-state students.

i like to believe that medical schools will take into account the fact that your 2.3 was over a decade ago and owuld suggest applying to quite a few high-tier schools too. if i may ask, did you "mess up" for any particular reason?

Members don't see this ad :)
Actually,