How much will this IA hurt me? How should I measure my expectations?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Koala2022

Reaction score
A summary of my app:
  • 522 (132/128/130/132) MCAT
  • 4.0 GPA
  • 1000+ hours of basic/pre-clinical research (1 publication + Honors thesis)
  • ~1000 hours as a clinical research coordinator at a children's hospital
  • 10 months as a Fulbright ETA
  • ~30 hours of shadowing
  • Tutor, TA, editor, etc.
But, I have a student conduct IA (reprimand, which is a warning letter at my school) for not reporting that my roommates were in possession of stolen school property, which they had stored in our suite. This is from my junior year of undergrad., so about 2 years ago.

How much should I expect this to impact my application?

Members don't see this ad.

Full disclosure I applied in 23 and am an incoming M1 so I am by no means an expert. However, this should literally do nothing to impact your application. The IA barely involves you. I would just be honest and upfront about what happened, don’t make any excuses. I would be beyond shocked if this impacted you negatively

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Did your student conduct office keep a copy of the sanction? What items were stolen? What consequences come from the reprimand?
They have internal records of the reprimand -- no sanctions were actually imposed. I just had to write a short essay reflecting on my role in the situation, and the roommates who did actually steal the signs were required to also write this short essay plus make a presentation for underclassmen to deter them from doing the same (from what I can recall). And the stolen items were dorm hallway exit signs.

Reactions: 1 user