Nontraditional student with a clinical background, do I need clinical volunteer hours? And other questions.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

acm318

Reaction score
Hello,

A little bit of background on me, I have about 6 years experience in the medical imaging field. I started with two years of x-ray school where I had at least 1800 hours of unpaid clinical internship working directly with patients in two level 1 trauma hospitals. After I completed the x-ray program, I moved out-of-state and worked in x-ray almost full time in a pediatric level 1 trauma facility while going to school for nuclear medicine technology where I had finished with at least 1200 hours of unpaid clinical internship working directly with patients in another adult level 1 trauma facility. After I completed this program I worked in a small rural critical access hospital for about 8 months before moving back to my home state and getting certified in Computed Tomography and finishing a Bachelor of Science in Health Sciences.

Now for over a year I have worked full time nuclear medicine in a rural hospital, and I work prn CT in a level 1 stroke/level 2 trauma facility. I have been working 60-80 hours per week between these two for 10 months and have just been accepted into a post-bacc premed program to start in the fall where I plan to still work at least 40 hours per week.

Within these experiences I have worked in traumas, activated strokes, surgery, ICU, inpatient floors, outpatient departments, ER, and even the morgue. I work with inpatients, outpatients, pediatrics, geriatrics, homeless and underserved patients and everyone in between. I often work with outpatient oncology and cardiology patients too. I have cleaned up every bodily fluid/matter. I collaborate with doctors, nurses, and other staff on a daily basis. And I truly love what I do and working with patients, I wouldn’t work as much as I do if I didn’t.