Partnership negotiation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

creek

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been working for my current practice for two years and ready to negotiate partnership.

Our practice is multi specialty, has PCP, urgent care etc. so it is complicated...

My Qs:
- what office collection% to ask?
- what ASC facility fee% is appropriate to ask?
- Should I ask for certain percentage of ownership for the pain clinic itself?

Any insights would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I have been working for my current practice for two years and ready to negotiate partnership.

Our practice is multi specialty, has PCP, urgent care etc. so it is complicated...

My Qs:

Uh...back this up. I would be asking for:

1) A CPA review of the owner/shareholder comp methodology
2) 2 years worth of financial statements
3) A copy of the by-laws and last 2 years of annual shareholder meeting minutes
4) A copy of the buy-sell agreement
5) A copy of the most recent valuation

Reactions: 1 user

My Qs:

Did they offer partnership? What does that mean? Are you buying shares of the ASC or Shares of the cooperation? Are there super partners? As noted above how is the value of the determine? What is your ROI? Is being a partner beneficial? Who really owns the group physicians, joint partnership, private equity?

Members don't see this ad :)
Yeah, the questions you are asking for are more of employee questions.

Buying into a partnership is buying into a business. You need to understand it's value, what your buying, and if the price is worth the return on investment. Both in time and money.

As a partner, compensation is usually your collections minute overhead. %collections would be a formula for an employee.
ASC profit would be distributed by percent ownership, independent of individual production.

Thank you everyone!