Should I get an MPH?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
B

Bob

Hello everyone,

Ive heard that admissions people do not like to accept people from other health professions. Is this true? How much can getting an MPH improve my chances of being accepted?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

There is talk all the time about people changing their careers to switch to medicine and health care experience is helpful.

What part of your application package are you trying to improve? Experience? Grades? Or are you just checking out other fields to make sure that you want to continue in medicine?

After I graduated from college, I wasn?t sure that I wanted to continue to medical school. A career counselor suggested Public Health school as an option. I was going to get an MPH in environmental health because of my background in biology.
In the course of checking out the MPH degree, I decided that I really DID want to become a doctor more than anything else. There are many roads to getting to that ultimate goal. I chose to take upper level biology classes as a post-bac to boost my science GPA. Since a flaw in my record is science GPA, I figured that the admissions committees may be more impressed by my mastery of Graduate level Biochemistry than a class called 'Sewage Treatment Plants'. Pubic health is still an interesiting field to me and I am exploring combined MD/MPH programs.

I suggest looking over your credentials and focus in on the areas you want to stregnthen. A MPH may be helpful to you

------------------
-Tanya

Class of '05 at ????

"Just like moons and like suns,
With the certainty of tides,
Just like hopes springing high,
Still I'll rise" -Maya Angelou "Still I Rise"