UF (Full ride) vs Vanderbilt (Full Tuition) for Pre-med - 1 day left...

Vanderbilt or UF for premed?

• Vanderbilt

• UF

Results are only viewable after voting.

DecisiveCookie

Reaction score
I am a Florida resident with 2 days left to decide my undergrad institute. I plan on majoring in biology and minoring in data science.

-With Vanderbilt cost is $30K/year after full tuition merit scholarship (Cornelius Vanderbilt). This comes with an honors program (I personally don't think is very useful because its already a private school).

- UF I make around $50K in four years after full ride +Other scholarships (National Merit, Presidential, etc, all Merit and not need based) (Comes with honors and research scholars program which gives priority for class enrollment and research - very good since its a big public university.)

- I am 100% on this take home $$ since I know tons of students taking home money in Florida with Benacquisto and Presidential. People who does not live in Florida do not know this.

I will be mostly in top 5% with the type of scholarships in both schools and ultimate goal is to go to T20 -T30 Medical school because I want to match into a competitive residency and potentially go into academia. What do you think the better option is?

I personally think I am capable of getting enough opportunities wherever I go and I don't need the private school level of abundance of opportunities. For example in high school I got NIH and NSF paid research internships.

UF PROS:
-Closer to home (can drive home once a month if I want)
-Bringing home money
-Better weather/ Nicest dorms ever/ No travel hassle (just a few hours from home)
-Slightly easier to maintain higher GPA
-I am bringing in 70 college credits from high school so a lot more flexibility/free time for extracurriculars.
-Better chance of getting into UF's no MCAT BSMD.

UF CONS: