[URGENT] NoordaCOM vs KansasCOM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
NoordaCOM
Pros
  • Research implemented into curriculum, I have no prior research experience so I feel like this would be a big help
  • Flexible schedule
  • Home state is included for students to travel for rotations
  • Has 1 more class than Kansas, they would have match results at the end of my 1st year
  • Looks like they give time for board prep after classes end
  • Fan of snow & winter sports

Cons
  • For profit, not sure how much this weighs for like residencies but I’ve seen people say this deters them from choosing a specific school
  • Private loans until c/o 2025 graduates
  • Comlex scores in 70’s
  • City is smaller but is only 35 min from a bigger city

KansasCOM
Pros
  • Federal aid
  • Nonprofit
  • P/F system
  • City is bigger and seems to offer a larger range of things to do

Cons
  • No comlex scores or match results yet
  • Home state is not included for travel but may be once they graduate a class
  • Some research opportunities but it’s up to the student
I was accepted to these two schools and I need to make a decision very soon. Any advice is great, thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
All else being equal, take the federal loans. It makes a massive financial difference.

Also, as a BYU grad, are you familiar with Provo or LDS culture at all? I love Provo, but it certainly won't offer a traditional schooling experience that many people want.

All else being equal, take the federal loans. It makes a massive financial difference.

Also, as a BYU grad, are you familiar with Provo or LDS culture at all? I love Provo, but it certainly won't offer a traditional schooling experience that many people want.
I am aware of the culture there but have no experience. Can you explain what you mean by not offering a traditional schooling experience?