Wake Forest vs Loyola vs UICOM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

indecisivepremed_

Reaction score
Hello! I know it's late to talk about this but since I was fortunate to be accepted by three schools, Wake Forest and Loyola and UICOM, I want to learn some perspectives from everyone! I wish to specialize in Derm, Cardiology, or Radiology in the future. Which school will be a better fit? I enjoyed my interview days at each school and everyone seems to be very cool during my second look visits. The caveat is I was assigned to the Peoria campus for UICOM whereas Loyola would be in Maywood/Chicago and Wake Forest I would be in Winston-Salem. I am an Illinois resident. What are pros/cons about these two schools? Any perspective is appreciated! Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Disclaimer: graduating M4 at Wake

I absolutely love Wake, and it has the best reputation (by far) in both derm and rads. However, assuming you’re an Illinois resident, I’m not sure that Loyola or Wake would be worth the tuition difference. Then again, it’s looking like the difference is only ~$15k per year, which I would say is a reasonable difference to pay if you don’t want to be in Peoria or if you liked either Wake or Loyola better. Plus, I assume that also means your family is in IL, which is a big factor for some people. These are all good mid-tier schools, so I guess we just need to hear about the cost difference and your preferences on your living situation (near family vs no preference; big city vs small town vs mid-sized suburb)

Disclaimer: graduating M4 at Wake