WAMC/How do I improve?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

helvetica_sands

Reaction score
Currently an ORM senior in a T20 and thinking of a gap year before I apply. My two dream med schools are Stanford and DGSOM, and I really want to give myself the best shot of trying to get into them, hence why I'm posting here to get a reality check! Of course, these are dreams, and I'll be happy with any med school, a doctor is a doctor :)

I currently have a 4.0 sGPA/cGPA, haven't taken the MCAT yet (though practice is around 515 rn).

Research:
I have 2160 research hours in my main wet lab, 200 hrs in a research course I took, 800 hrs in clinical research. No pubs or posters sadly, due to bad luck and bacteria that can only be described as evil.

Clinical:
I have ~500 over two clinical volunteering positions in a hospital.
I also work as an part time MA for 300 hrs and will try to work as an EMT during my gab year so projected ~1000 hrs or so.

Leadership:
Finally I'm leadership in part of some misc pre-health and computer science clubs as a board member (~540 hrs each) and I tutor both as a volunteer for low income students and as a part time job for students with learning impediments ( ~980 hrs).

Shadowing:
~ 15 hours in a small clinic :,0 I'm planning on fixing this during my gap year.

Hobbies:
Draw portraits, self taught since elementary school (~1000 hrs)
Sing/play instrument (perform rarely + make my own music sometimes) (~500 hrs)

LORs:
- 1 strong LOR, 3 Mid LORS, and 1 sus one. I know I need to work on this :/

I know my app is pretty bland and there are at least 1000 other students in my school itself who have the same stats and ECs as me, never mind the 37000 other premeds haha. I guess does anyone have tip on how do I stand out? Are there any tips for how I can strengthen what I have already? Any tips on how to make the most of my gap year? Thank you so much!

Members don't see this ad.