Anxiety over COMLEX - advice needed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

dt7538

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Resolved. Thank you to everyone who offered their advice.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi everyone, I really need some advice.

COMLEX is in 4 weeks, and I know I'm not ready. I'm not just saying that. I started studying the 3rd week of May (pretty much right after school got out and I moved back home) and studying has been quite the challenge since.

The first issue is that moving back home has made it immensely difficult to study. My parents are always having me do things for them. One of my parents has a disability. I have to drop what I'm doing in that moment to help them with whatever they want, and when they want. If I don't, they make me feel insanely guilty or yell at me, and then there's always the possibility of me being cut off financially. I can't just leave the house to go to the library whenever I want because we only have one car, and my parents needs for the car come first.

Unfortunately, class studying was not board studying. I didn't realize this until I got to dedicated. I know several people that have failed/almost have failed classes because they tried to just study what was in First Aid/B&B/Pathoma for our exams. I've been trying really hard to fix my weaknesses. I know I can do it, but it's just going to take some time (more time than I have right now).

I've been doing B&B/First Aid/Sketchy/Pathoma followed by Anki for each subject. I've hardly done U World (about 200 questions at this point). My scores on practice questions for the subjects I've covered have ranged from 60-75%. We're supposed to take a practice exam sometime this month to see if we're ready to take boards. If we don't pass it, we have to take boards sometime during our rotations.