Anyone else in a system like this?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gatewayhoward

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been a paramedic for almost a year now. I move from a mixed volunteer and career department in the East coast to a private EMS company in Phoenix. The standing orders are great, you can do just about any skill or med without having to talk to a physician and only have to tell the hospital you're coming. Unlike the east, where you had to patch for half your skills and meds and lacked about five or six meds.

But the way the system is set up is so terrible that it's making me consider giving up the road or atleast working there part time and working at a hospital. As medics, we are tought to be aggressive and function as leaders on scene. In AZ an engine or ladder truck HAS to be on scene before the ambulance. Okay, in the east, fire would be there half the time and stabilize the situation, and once the ambo gets there, it's their medical scene. In this jurisdiction, the fire crew has two medics that take charge the entire time. you will wait and assist the crew while they order you and your EMT partner what to do, and where you're taking the patient.
We're looked at as just the transport. We have no real authority on scene. If it's an ALS call and the fire medics don't know you, they will always ride to the hospital with you and they continue to take charge. Most of the skills you'll do would consist of IV's and meds.
Okay, I'm super aggressive and I get in there and tell them what I'm going to do, so it's not as if I'm being timid on scene.