Not open for further replies.

artist2022

DDS 🦷🎓✔
Administrator
Volunteer Staff
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am currently enrolled in general chemistry 1 over my university's intersession. The way intersession courses work here is 3 hours of lecture and 3 hours of lab, every day. One day equates to one week of the regular academic year. My prof is nice, she even lets us bring a cheat sheet into tests and exams.

However, I have no chemistry background past grade 10, and I am really scared that I am going to fail. I've looked into a tutor, but she can only meet once a week, and I know that won't be enough. My math doesn't go past grade 11. Chem is the only thing I have to do right now (no other courses or jobs), but I also haven't had much study time lately, due to a family member health issue.

I'm going into third year and want to go to dental school. Would it be better to drop the course now (if I drop it by end of day tomorrow, it won't appear on my transcript) and sign up to take it in the fall, when the pace is a little slower? Or should I try to stick it out now and risk failing? If I have to put it off until the fall, it likely means doing at least one extra year for my degree. Would dental schools care if I took longer to do my degree? If I drop it now, is there anything I should do to prepare for the fall?