Quoted: feeling so hopeless

All4MyDaughter

SDN Mommystrator
Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
This member is having trouble with a number of issues. She's been given information some sources of potential support. I'm hoping she can get some feedback on the other aspects of her situation, specifically residency and career. Not my area, though I am sympathetic. :)

I am so sorry to bother you all with this, but I desperately need help and don't know where to turn. I am a family medicine resident who started residency in July 2006. I failed a rotation in January, had some really bad marriage problems. Took the month of June off to try to fix things at home. Got a six month extension to my intern year. Took the boards and failed. Got a divorce which finalized two months ago. My ex has moved out of town and now I am a single mom to two kids, ages 1 and 2. My ITE exam put me at the 11th percentile for the nation, bottom of the curve. I'm supposed to finish my intern year at the end of January and all I want to do is quit. I hate my life and everything about it. I love my babies but am so exhausted I can hardly enjoy them. I would do anything just to quit it all, but I am on scholarship with NHSC and would have to pay back 3 times my scholarship (600K) if I don't go into primary care. I am totally stuck from every side. I've thought about transferring out of FM, but who would want to take someone with such a poor resume? I apparently have taken a wrong turn somewhere and have gone down the path of hell/purgatory and can't seem to find a way out. Please, please, any ideas? I don't feel like I can be honest with any of my attendings because I don't want to screw up any marginal chance at success I may have left. Thanks for your help.

Members don't see this ad.