Quoted: Next Step

Doodledog

Escape artist
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Do any SDN members have any advice for this poster?

Dear SDN mentors/advisors,

First of all, thank you for the time and advice you put into each of these posts. It was by sheer luck I stumbled upon this community recently, and the exchange of information I have seen thus far has been extremely helpful. Keep up the great work!:thumbup:

Now for my "pickle". I graduated from UC-xxx as pre-med with a B.A. in Music. I have been interested in a career in medicine since a very young age, and upon entering college, was advised to pursue a major that was interesting to me despite my career goals (I could take all the requisite classes for med school anyway). Having been a classically-trained pianist since the age of 4, I naturally chose Music as the logical choice of my studies. To challenge myself even further, I decided to go ahead and enroll in those pre-med courses, partly because UC-xxx requirements included science and math courses in their broad liberal arts education, and partly because I knew I was pursuing a career in medicine. I found myself hovering the unit cap often, and doing so very early on in my college education. Unfortunately, I also quickly found myself emotionally drained from attempting to commit compromised efforts in two areas of focus that clearly demanded fuller attention. I continued this relentless scheduling for almost three whole years. Perhaps I was not working diligently enough, I thought. Suggestions from college counselors and advisors only encouraged this quarterly behavior, and they somehow convinced me I was doing the right thing. I had the feeling that many, if not all, of the campus counselors had not dealt with someone of my educational situation too often. I began to lose motivation, and it was reflected on the quality of work I submitted. I grew weary physically despite healthy lifestyle practices. A visit to campus psychological service