Terrible Undergrad GPA-improving my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jui Naik

Reaction score
I studied biology in undergrad at UNC, and made very poor grades. I honestly did not take school as seriously as I should, and ended up with a 2.9 GPA. My science grades were very poor, the most embarrassing part being when I failed organic chemistry twice.

I graduated in 2019 and have been working at a reputable Pharmaceutical company since. I have been diagnosed with ADHD (which, while doesn’t fully explain my poor grades, definitely contributed). I am feeling extremely unfulfilled however, and am considering a career change.

I am considering fully retaking all PT prerequisites, and potentially organic chemistry simply to make up for failing it. Additionally, I will of course take the GRE and get my observation hours. I recognize that this will be a years long process.

Do you think this would be a wasted effort? Would any PT schools even accept me? Schools will still see my poor undergrad grades, even if I retake Biol 101/102, Chem 101/102, Physics 101/102, and Anatomy/Physiology and do very well. I do think that I would get a good GRE score, since I am historically good at taking standardized tests, and hope to find a few good observation locations.

Members don't see this ad.

Why not continue to work with the pharmaceutical company? You could always look for a new job in the same field if you're burned out with your current employer. Personally I think you earning a living the past 3 years is just as a fulfilling experience as any DPT program that overcharges for a doctorate degree. But the grass is always greener I suppose.