Does taking an algebra class in undergrad before pre-calc look worse to med schools than just starting at pre-calc, or do they not care?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Amber032

Reaction score
I haven't been in HS in years and don't really remember the algebra that well.
The college I'm going to wont let you take pre-calc unless you either pay for and pass their own math assessment test, or take a basic algebra class 1st.
I studied for and took the SAT over a year ago and got an average score on the math portion, but when I recently took the school's math assessment practice test, I failed it. It was the same math that was tested on the SAT, but I forgot a lot of it. (& they won't accept SAT math scores in replacement of their test)
I can self-study for the math again for their assessment test and will probably pass, or I can take the basic algebra class instead.
I'm just wondering if it'll look better on my application if I skip the algebra class and have my 1st math class as pre-calc, or if it won't really matter as long as I have all the upper-level math courses later on?

Members don't see this ad.

Math is irrelevant as long as you get As and Bs unless you plan to attend a Med Engineering program. Get a semester of stats and some other class and you're good at like 90% of schools.

Reactions: 1 user
If you passed algebra before, I'd study and retake the exam.

Otherwise, I don't know what you're majoring in. And I'm not sure it would make a difference to most graduate programs except... math. Check your academic advisors.

Members don't see this ad :)
The college I'm going to wont let you take pre-calc unless you either pay for and pass their own math assessment test, or take a basic algebra class 1st.