how to write diversity essay as a cis white female?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

drdoof11

Reaction score
i know that this is a bit of a common question, but i really am at a loss for what to say when secondaries ask how i can contribute to the diversity of a school. like i am cis, straight, white, middle class, basically boring. i have had a lot of great experiences with diverse populations but i myself really do not contribute. i know that people online say that things like being a single parent or coming from a unique location make you diverse, but i really dont have anything like that. the closest that i can think of is that i am a twin, but i know that would be ridiculous to talk about for these types of questions. any tips abt how to go about writing these secondaries?

Members don't see this ad.

Being ORM, I focused on diversity in background and thought. I’m a non-trad paramedic who worked with a diverse patient population and stated that would translate well when working with pts with different backgrounds than myself, as well as when collaborating with fellow students and healthcare providers. It can be a tad harder if you don’t have as many experiences to work off of.

• Love
Reactions: 4 users
Piggy backing off the previous comment, you can talk about one of your great experiences with diverse populations and relate it back to the importance of diversity in medicine and communities/ how you might have made an impact working with diverse populations and relate that to you as a future physician. Just some thoughts!

Members don't see this ad :)