I am an international student with a complete app in August and have not heard from a single schoo. Do I prep for a reapp?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

s.nd

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I'm a junior in college planning on applying to medical school this May and was wondering if I should take a gap year before applying given my app:

- International student at HYP studying Biology

- Gpa is around 3.88-3.89

- MCAT is 512 (127,129,128,128)

- ECs: (I had my first year of college online from home but I started the ECs during my sophomore year when I came to the U.S)

• work as a course assistant and tutor students on organic chemistry, general chemistry, biochemistry, and biology (I work around 8-10 hours/week)
  • volunteer at a nursing home that also has some patients on hospice care (I do room visits, play card games with them, sing, and just listen to their stories!): around 200hr by the time I apply
  • volunteer at a hospital doing patient transport (200 hr by the time I apply)
  • volunteer at a homeless shelter playing with kids (180 hr by the time I apply)
  • blood donor ambassador at Red Cross (150 hr by the time I apply)
  • Shadowing (50 hr)
- Research:

• I haven't calculated my hours but I have been doing research in the same lab consistently since I came to the U.S around 6-16 hr/week (25 hr/week during the summer), and got some funding/fellowship for the research too.
- Letters of Rec:

• my PI (he knows me pretty well and also the PI and his assistant reached out to me to join the lab after I took an intro bio class with him (had around 400 students)
  • the nursing home volunteering director
  • my biochem professor (I'm a course assistant for this class)
  • my chemistry professor (I'm a course assistant for this class and students have written positive comments about my performance last year)
  • a non-science LOR

I would really appreciate some insight!