I have a not-so-good GPA and want to know if grad school would help my chances of med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futuredoc47

Reaction score
I'm a junior at UCSB and transferred from ASU my sophomore year. At ASU, I had a 3.75 cumulative, and now at UCSB, I have a 3.1 cumulative, I was wondering if someone could give me any advice about grad programs in the UK, I've been looking into the University of Nottingham and Durham, and I would love to do those programs, but not if they aren't going to boost my resume for med school. Could someone let me know if they are worth it for me to look into and do? Especially with my lower GPA?

Members don't see this ad.

Graduate degrees do not remediate undergraduate performance for MD schools.
DO schools see things differently.

Graduate study abroad is enlightening, but is not generally a factor for MD. I have no experience with how DO schools might view it.

You need a sustained period of academic excellence in upper division sciences to show that you are a candidate for medical school.

Reactions: 1 users
What specifically are the programs you're considering? What is your science GPA now?

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm a junior at UCSB and transferred from ASU my sophomore year. At ASU, I had a 3.75 cumulative, and now at UCSB, I have a 3.1 cumulative, I was wondering if someone could give me any advice about grad programs in the UK, I've been looking into the University of Nottingham and Durham, and I would love to do those programs, but not if they aren't going to boost my resume for med school. Could someone let me know if they are worth it for me to look into and do? Especially with my lower GPA?
You're not doing yourself any favors by taking grad school courses when you need to be taking and aceing med school-like courses.

Read this:

Reactions: 2 users
Welcome to the forums.