Math prep for Chemistry and Physics

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

leadsquid

Reaction score
Also posted this in the nontrad forum.

I’m a couple of years removed from any sort of math courses. I’m also not very good at math. Would going through the Khan Academy Algebra 1 and 2 courses be enough to set me up for success for General Chem 1 and Physics 1? My chemistry background is limited and I have no experience with physics. I have about four months until courses start.

Members don't see this ad.

Be comfortable solving for a particular variable given an equation (this is algebra, something like: if 8xy^2 = 3z/b then you should be able to quickly solve for x, y, z, or b). Honestly, unless your classes are calculus based, then that should largely be sufficient and you can pick up the rest of things that are required in the class (I.e. dimensional analysis, quadratic equation, ratio reasoning…).

What’s nice about science classes is that the math is applied and so is typically less dense to get through than a pure mathematics course.

Edit: I would also recommend being comfortable with logs and exponents. I taught several undergrad chemistry labs and tutored for chemistry and physics. These are things that people struggle with and get hung up on sometimes.

A big tip for future you: learn dimensional analysis down cold when it comes up in lecture. It’s the most useful tool you’ll have in your science tool box by far. It literally gives you the answers if you know how to do it and can even be used in medical school (I literally used it on an exam today to calculate cardiac work).

Also posted this in the nontrad forum.