Would love advice on criminal offense that was done overseas

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1115001

Hey, I've always been lurking here and hate to have this as my very first post, but welp... here we go.

So, to make it as brief as possible (it's pretty complicated tbh), I am a permanent resident and have a criminal offense from back in 2015 when I visited my native country for a few months. There is not an equivalent crime nor offense in the States of what I was charged and convicted for. The closest I can think of is defamation, which is considered to be a civil claim instead of a crime. Anyways, I was charged, convicted, and paid $1500 as a fine/penalty. I was not sentenced or anything. The records have now been expunged as it has been quite a few years since the incident has happened. (But the records still do exist, and can be revealed if I request so for immigration purposes, etc. - Certiphi will not have access to the records)

Now here comes the issue. On AMCAS, I said "no" to both felony and misdemeanor. I've consulted 3 lawyers, including those who specialize in immigration services, about this issue. Every single response is, "Well, that's really vague. I can't give you a definite answer." My initial reasoning for saying "no" was because it is neither a felony nor a misdemeanor in the States. But, thinking of it, I shouldn't be the one making a decision on whether it is one or not. But, even lawyers are like "err... it's a crime overseas, so welp... err..."
I have no idea what to do on this and was hoping to seek advice from the wise SDN community who most of the time, if not always, have an answer.