No State School Interviews?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HaoChengRen

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys!

I was wondering if any of y'all had any thoughts on my situation, because I can't really put my finger on why this happened.

I'm a NY resident and applied to every school in NY (plus a few private schools OOS). I have a 520 MCAT and 3.99 GPA. 200+ clinical volunteering and 200+ nonclinical. 40+ shadowing. Thousands of work experience. No research experience (which is a huge setback for private schools, I know :cryi:).

I got 5 interviews this cycle, all private NY schools. One of them from NYU Grossman. But not a single state school invited me to an interview, which was a huge surprise to me. I know yield protection is a thing, but I've read that it's not as significant for state schools because they understand the lower tuition makes them attractive. I know it's hard to tell without having seen my app, but do any of y'all have any idea why this could've happened? The rest of the schools I interviewed at ranged from mid-tier to top-tier. I would've chalked it up to not standing out and having basic ECs, but then why would NYU have interviewed me when I don't even have research? I feel like if there was a glaring red flag somewhere I wouldn't have had 5 interviews, but who knows lol. I've thought of reaching out to the schools directly to ask, but I don't want to waste their resources when there are people who plan on reapplying who might need them more :unsure:

Members don't see this ad.

Not familiar with the NY state schools, but med school admissions in general are a bit of a crapshoot. Maybe it was yield protecting, but who could know. Did you apply late?

Congrats on the 5 interviews though, that's more than most get, and you'll likely end with an acceptance at an excellent school. Even with a higher COA, it'll absolutely be worth it.

Best of luck!

Hi guys!