Residents: a 4th yr. needs advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

indoflip

Whats your question?
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I really want to do a residency. More than likely Pharmacy Practice. But I know how limited the spots are and how competitive they can be.

My weaknesses are that I was a B average student, I have worked for a retail chain for the past 4 years and I didn't make time for extracurriculars because of work. I joined maybe 1 professional group at school that I was semi-active in my second year. I also won an award for a poster that I made for a VA hospital my 3rd year.

My strengths are that I have excellent communication skills, I'm empathetic, and I have a great desire to have patient contact and take my schooling to the next level. I really want to help people and make a difference.

So that being said, my question is: does my background sound like I have what it takes to be competitive for a residency? I get so intimated by these programs. What would possibly make me more desirable for one spot than someone jam packed with extracurriculars and A grades?

I'm currently on rotations right now and going straight til my graduation in March, so extra time is limited, but is there anything I can do to make myself look better? :oops:

Thanks so much!

Members don't see this ad.

Grades don't matter all that much unless you have like a 2.0 gpa. What is really important is networking, like Fermata said, and having a real good CV to turn in. Do everything and anything you can to pad your CV. I've documented several things on mine as a first year so mine is already 2 pages long. Attend your state's ASHP and APhA meetings as well. Most importantly, be involved!

Members don't see this ad :)