Dental Switching from Pre-med to Pre-dent, but working full time. How do I move forward?

Status
Not open for further replies.

artist2022

DDS 🦷🎓✔
Administrator
Volunteer Staff
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a student that graduated on May 2017 with a Biomedical Science degree. I have a 3.52 overall GPA, with a 3.55 Science GPA. I did have a downward trend in my last year of college due to very complicated family problems. I've applied twice to Medical School in my time away from college, rejected both times. After the second though, I realized that I really didn't want to go to medical school, but would prefer to go to dental school.

Unfortunately, during those 2 years, I've been helping my dad with his business (farms) and it comes with a terrible schedule where I didn't really ever have much time to myself. I would go into work at 6 AM, and be home at like 6 PM or 7 PM. Recently though, things have finally gotten better and I want to start pursuing going back to professional school. I had already shadowed a dentist (about 50 hours) when I was in college, and I knew I enjoyed it so much. I was naive, and thought that while I had fun, I wanted to chase the prestige that everyone gave to doctors. It pains me that I'm just realizing at this point in my life what I really want, but it is what it is. My question though, is if this is even a possibility, or if I should just focus on finding another career.